Model assessment · Lansky

Lansky Combo Stone (LCB8FC, 8-inch option) review

Manual two-sided alumina-oxide benchstone. Lansky's configurable family record maps SKU LCB8FC to its 8-inch nominal length option and describes a maker-listed 120-grit coarse face and 600-grit fine face.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Official Lansky Combo Stone family image showing a two-sided rectangular stone with a knife; selected size is not identified
Official Combo Stone family image; the displayed length variant is not specified. Lansky manufacturer product-family image
A useful fit for

For a shopper who prefers Lansky's 8-inch nominal length option in a manual, two-sided alumina-oxide stone and is comfortable controlling the bevel freehand; the exact maker description lists pocket knives and hunting/fishing knives among its uses.

The main tradeoff

The extra nominal length is the documented size difference, not a published blade-clearance guarantee. No numeric angle guide is listed, current maker grit figures of 120/600 conflict with exact-SKU retailer text at 100/240, and holder, oil and strop inclusion are not confirmed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the LCB8FC give me a fixed angle such as 20°?

No. Lansky instructs the user to observe and match the blade's existing bevel on a stable flat surface. The exact page supplies no numeric setting or angle guide, so a required 20° or 25° guide is not verified for this stone.

Explore this need in the finder →
Which LCB8FC face does Lansky assign to repair and which to upkeep?

The current manufacturer family page calls the dark-gray side coarse, 120 grit, for a completely dull or damaged edge; it calls the light-gray side fine, 600 grit, for touch-up or maintenance of an already-sharp edge. It recommends progressing from coarse to fine. Retail text for the SKU conflicts at 100/240, so verify the current package if the exact grade is decisive.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the LCB8FC package include honing oil or a leather strop?

The instructions say honing oil is optional but recommended and that the same lubricant should be used consistently if chosen. The exact manufacturer page does not confirm oil as a supplied item and does not identify a leather strop; check the exact seller package rather than treating either as included.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is LCB8FC the six- or eight-inch Combo Stone?

The exact manufacturer variant record maps LCB8FC to the 8-inch length option. It maps LCB6FC to 6 inches. The page does not state usable working-face length, width or height, so the nominal option is not a blade-clearance measurement.

Explore this need in the finder →

This assessment is for Lansky's exact Combo Stone variant LCB8FC: the 8-inch length selection in the current configurable manufacturer family. The family has a single two-sided alumina-oxide sharpening stone with a dark-gray coarse face and a light-gray fine face. Its instructions ask for a stable, flat work surface and hand-controlled bevel matching, not a clamp or numeric angle slot. Lansky lists pocket knives, hunting and fishing knives, utility blades and several workshop or garden-tool tasks. The review is based on the maker's published record, not on ownership, personal sharpening, measured output or a laboratory test. See the exact Lansky Combo Stone family page for the source description and configuration.

The 8-inch selection is a real variant, but not a fit chart

Lansky maps LCB8FC to “Combo Stone 8-inch” and Length: 8 in; LCB6FC is the separate 6-inch option. Length is the only configurable attribute. The maker gives no usable stroke length, width, height or knife-clearance measure, so 8-inch cannot certify that a particular blade fits.

The family page describes the same coarse/fine surfaces and hand-guided procedure for both sizes, with no documented extra grit, guide, holder or operating mode in LCB8FC. Compare the longer option if its nominal length suits your layout; choose LCB6FC for the same routine in the shorter selection.

Read the two-face routine by edge condition

On the current manufacturer page, the dark-gray coarse face is labeled 120 grit and assigned to a completely dull or damaged edge. The light-gray fine face is listed as 600 grit and assigned to touch-up or maintenance of an already-sharp edge. The directions say to select the side for the edge's condition and, when using both, move from coarse to fine. This lets a buyer distinguish the intended tasks without inventing a claim about speed, measured material removal or the finish produced.

Retail catalogue data for the exact LCB8FC SKU gives a different pair—100 grit coarse and 240 grit medium—without explaining whether it is an older entry or another package record. The current Lansky family page is the primary specification used in this assessment, but the discrepancy is unresolved. If a precise grade is essential, check the exact package and current seller/manufacturer description before ordering. Do not assume that a third-party spec line is automatically a new stone configuration.

Expect hand control, not a fixed bevel

Lansky instructs the user to set the stone on a stable flat surface, inspect the knife's existing bevel, then match it by hand. The described movement uses light pressure and pushes the edge across the stone in one motion; the instructions then call for a few strokes on each side, repeating as needed. The maker gives no angle range, degree mark, angle increment, guide or per-side/inclusive convention for the Combo Stone. The extra two nominal inches do not turn LCB8FC into a controlled-angle system.

Oil is optional but recommended according to the exact page. If the owner chooses a lubricant, the maker says to use the same one each time; it describes lubricant as helping clean the surface and prevent metal shavings from clogging it. The source does not say honing oil is included, and it does not establish the seller's exact box contents. A base, strop, clamp or storage case should therefore be verified as a separate package detail rather than presumed from the word “benchstone.”

Use labels and unresolved edge boundaries

The exact Lansky text names pocket knives, hunting and fishing knives, utility knife blades, gardening tools, woodworking and industrial cutting-tool edge maintenance. That is enough to treat pocket/hunting use as a maker-documented category, while still leaving an individual knife's bevel, clearance and safe presentation to be checked. The page does not provide a blade-length limit or a compatibility list. It offers no step-by-step serration method or scissor routine, and it does not explicitly name kitchen knives in the description used here. These omissions are not a claim that the stone could never be used for those tasks; they mean the exact product record does not certify them.

The source supplies no independent comparison, timing or durability data, so its grit labels should not be translated into a guaranteed outcome or sharpening speed.

Comparing it with the 6-inch version and other systems

The direct sibling comparison is LCB6FC: both are the same Combo Stone family and list the same two-grit alumina-oxide workflow; the maker's documented difference is the 6-inch versus 8-inch length option. BSTR100 is a different Lansky bench system with three abrasive surfaces and a documented plastic base; the Combo Stone page does not list such a base. Lansky clamp kits use guided hones and marked positions, while this stone leaves the bevel to the user.

Before ordering

Check the exact code LCB8FC if the longer nominal option is required; avoid relying on a listing that collapses it with LCB6FC. Confirm the actual delivered stone, any holder and any lubricant or strop in the seller's package. If the 120/600 versus 100/240 discrepancy changes your choice, seek clarification before purchase. Set aside a stable flat work surface and compare the knife's own dimensions and sharpening instructions; Lansky's product page gives no individual-clearance guarantee or numeric bevel setting.

LCB8FC is the documented 8-inch member of a manual, two-face freehand stone family. Its strongest supported points are the explicit pocket and hunting use list, the maker's coarse-for-damaged / fine-for-maintenance sequence and the distinct longer nominal size. The limitations are equally useful: no angle guide, no quantified knife fit, uncertain accessory inclusion and conflicting published grit figures. This conclusion stays within those records; it does not claim hands-on use, price, stock, ratings or customer experience.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

PowerManual
Sharpening formatTwo-sided freehand alumina-oxide benchstone: place it on a stable flat surface, select the coarse or fine face and guide a light push stroke while matching the existing bevel by hand.
Included abrasive surfacesDark-gray coarse alumina-oxide face, maker-listed 120 grit, for a completely dull or damaged edge / Light-gray fine alumina-oxide face, maker-listed 600 grit, for touch-up or maintenance of an already-sharp edge
Use dry (no oil or water)No
Angle-guide positions°

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Check the requirements that matter to you

Use the finder to compare documented sharpener formats and limits; an unknown capability is not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →