Model assessment · Lansky

Lansky 4-Rod Ceramic TurnBox Crock Stick Knife Sharpener with Leather Strop review

Manual hardwood TurnBox with four 5-inch ceramic rods (two medium 600-grit brown sharpening rods and two fine 1,000-grit white touch-up rods), two discrete 20°/25° guide positions, rod storage, and an included leather strop with compound for a separate polishing finish.

Sources checked 2026-11-01 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Lansky LCD5DL ceramic TurnBox with a leather strop surface and green compound bar beside its rods.
Lansky LCD5DL all-ceramic TurnBox with leather-strop package; verify SKU. Lansky manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A compact manual rod system for shoppers who want two marked positions, both listed ceramic grit pairs, and an included leather strop with compound for a separate final polish.

The main tradeoff

The 20° and 25° positions are discrete and their per-side versus inclusive convention is not stated. The product record gives no compound grade, strop dimensions, blade-clearance limit, serration routine or scissor method.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What finishing step does the exact LCD5DL package add?

The exact LCD5DL record adds a leather strop and polishing compound after the ceramic rod work, and its directions describe this as a separate final-polishing step. The same page calls the 600-grit brown pair the sharpening rods and the 1,000-grit white pair touch-up rods. It does not state the compound grade or strop dimensions.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are the LCD5DL 20° and 25° marks an adjustable range?

No. The exact product record describes two marked rod-hole positions, 20° and 25°. Its two-stage instructions move between those positions for a particular thinning-and-finishing routine; they do not establish intermediate settings. The manufacturer does not specify whether the marks are per-side or inclusive, and the strop finish has no numeric angle.

Explore this need in the finder →
How does LCD5DL differ from the similar TB2D2CL TurnBox?

LCD5DL's exact description lists four ceramic rods: two 600-grit medium and two 1,000-grit fine, plus leather strop and compound. TB2D2CL is a different exact SKU whose product record lists two medium diamond rods, two fine ceramic rods and its own leather strop/compound. Check the model code so the diamond pair is not confused with the all-ceramic LCD5DL package.

Explore this need in the finder →

This is a source-based assessment of Lansky's 4-Rod Ceramic TurnBox Crock Stick Knife Sharpener with Leather Strop, exact SKU LCD5DL; it is not a hands-on test. The exact manufacturer record describes the familiar hardwood TurnBox base and four ceramic rods, then adds a leather strop with compound as a separate finishing surface. That extra component is the primary distinction from the standard all-ceramic LCD5D, not a new motor, clamp or continuously adjustable angle control. See Lansky's exact LCD5DL product page and directions for its package list and procedure.

A ceramic TurnBox with an added final surface

Lansky lists four 5-inch alumina-ceramic rods: two medium 600-grit brown rods for sharpening and two fine 1,000-grit white rods for touch-ups. The wood base stores the rods. LCD5DL also lists a leather strop and compound, with a separate polishing step on that surface. The user still chooses and positions the rods and controls the blade's path.

Do not confuse this all-ceramic package with TB2D2CL, which has two medium diamond rods and two fine ceramic rods. Compared with standard LCD5D, LCD5DL adds a leather strop and compound. Exact SKU matters because the shared TurnBox shape does not establish which abrasives or finishing pieces are included. Read the separate LCD5D assessment and TB2D2CL review to compare those packages.

Guide marks and maker-named uses

The wood base has two marked rod positions, 20° and 25°. Lansky associates 20° with slicing, fillet, butcher, paring and skinning knives; its page ties 25° to hunting, camping, utility and chef's knives. It also says a lower angle may require more regular maintenance. Those examples explain the manufacturer's stated use categories, but they should not be read as a universal bevel recommendation. The product page does not say whether the marks are measured per side or as an inclusive total, so confirm the knife maker's angle convention before treating either number as the correct setting for a specific edge.

The two positions are discrete, not a continuous 20°–25° dial. Lansky's instructions describe one-stage work at a chosen position and a separate two-stage route: make 10–12 strokes on each rod at 20° to thin the edge, move the rods to 25° for a finishing pass, and then polish on the leather strop with compound. The existence of that sequence does not certify every intermediate angle. The strop itself is a separate finishing operation; its angle is not stated numerically, and it does not inherit the rod guide's 20° or 25° setting.

Safe setup still depends on the operator

The manufacturer directs the user to place the TurnBox on a stable, flat surface at a comfortable working height. After choosing the ceramic pair and marked holes, the user holds the base firmly with the non-dominant hand, keeps fingers as far from the rods as practical, and holds the blade upright. The described motion draws the blade down and toward the user along one rod, then alternates to its partner for the opposite side. Lansky cautions against rolling the blade tip off the rod. These instructions describe a user-controlled stroke; the base guides the rods but does not clamp the knife or regulate pressure.

The added strop is used after rod work in the maker's stated sequence. The record calls it leather and lists compound, but does not supply a compound grade, a strop working-surface dimension or a numeric stropping angle. That makes LCD5DL a verified strop-included package, not a basis for claims about a mirror finish, a particular edge outcome or a measured polishing performance. The product image shows the surface and green compound, but the package statement comes from the model-specific text rather than from the photograph alone.

Tasks this evidence does not settle

Lansky's exact page does not document a serration routine, scissor method, maximum blade length, handle-clearance limit, steel chart or detailed ceramic/strop cleaning schedule for this SKU. It names kitchen and hunting knife uses at particular guide positions, but does not list every compatible blade shape. The 5-inch rod dimension alone cannot determine whether an unusually long blade, a thick bolster or a narrow handle will clear the base during the maker's stroke. For a knife with special geometry, use the knife maker's advice and seek model-specific fit information rather than treating a generic use label as a guarantee.

The rod names and grits distinguish the sharpening and touch-up pairs; they do not establish how much material a knife needs removed. LCD5DL's page calls its white rods touch-up rods and assigns final polishing to the leather surface. The standard LCD5D source instead calls its white rods polishing rods. Use the exact SKU's directions rather than transferring generic sibling instructions.

Bottom line and buying checks

LCD5DL is a compact manual ceramic-rod system with two fixed guide positions and a listed leather-strop-and-compound finish. It is a plausible comparison for someone who wants a documented strop in the exact package and whose sharpening task matches the maker's named 20° or 25° use examples. It is less suitable if the requirement is a continuously adjustable guide, a clamp-held blade, a confirmed serration method or an exact angle convention that the source does not state. No personal use, sharpness test or measured result is claimed here.

Before ordering, verify SKU LCD5DL—not LCD5D or TB2D2CL—and ask whether the actual seller package matches the four ceramic rods, leather strop and compound named by Lansky. Check the knife maker's angle convention and whether its blade geometry can be used with the upright stroke. If diamond rods are important, compare TB2D2CL instead; if a strop is not needed and the all-ceramic rod package is enough, LCD5D is the simpler package to compare. Confirm exact model, included components and return terms on the offer rather than using a shared product photo as a contents list.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

PowerManual
Sharpening formatHardwood turnbox with in-base rod storage; choose the discrete 20° or 25° marked guide holes, insert the selected ceramic pair, hold the blade upright and draw it down and toward the user along alternating rods, then use the included leather strop with compound for a separate polishing step. the maker also describes a 20° thinning pass followed by a 25° finishing pass and strop.
Lowest angle setting20°
Highest angle setting25°
Included abrasive surfacesTwo 5-inch medium 600-grit brown ceramic rods for sharpening / Two 5-inch fine 1,000-grit white ceramic rods for touch-ups / Leather strop and polishing compound for a separate final finish / Hardwood TurnBox base with internal rod storage
Strop includedYes
Angle-guide positions20 / 25°

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Check the requirements that matter to you

Use the finder to compare documented sharpener formats and limits; an unknown capability is not treated as a match.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →